Seeds of Passion: What Literary Citizenship Means to Me

Words, words, words.

In addition to being a Hamlet quote and the filler I put in rough drafts when I can’t think of what to write next, the phrase “words, words, words” sums up my entire life.

I currently own over 400 books, book fairs and library trips were a constant presence in my childhood, and one of my first memorable bonds with a teacher was the result of my love of reading. My identity as a reader was one that I clung to, and it was an identity that led me to another identity, that of an aspiring writer. In one of the very first stories I ever tried to write, pounding away at the keys of my family’s old desktop computer, I essentially plagiarized the formula to The Lightning Thief, but with a female narrator.

Although that file has been long lost along with that computer (thank goodness, it was awful), I still think about it from time to time, and the effect that reading Rick Riordan had on me. I identified as a reader long before I started reading Percy Jackson and the Olympians, but retrospectively, this moment was one of my most passionate moments as a reader. I was so inspired by a story that I wanted to capture that same kind of magic.

This passion is part of what it means to me to be a literary citizen.

Passion by itself isn’t enough, though, I’ve realized growing up. I could read by myself in my room and cry my heart out over the characters, but no one would ever know how I felt about that book if I didn’t talk to them about it. I grew up shy, and by nature, I am an introvert, but talking about books has always been something I could do. I surrounded myself with friends who shared my passion, to the point that we would play our own version of Harry Potter during recess, and I wrote pages of book recommendations for a friend in high school. I even went to the midnight release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows at Borders (rest in peace, old friend) and watched fellow readers debate whether Snape was good or evil.

I was part of a community of readers and writers even before I knew what literary citizenship was, just by sharing and talking about my passion for words.

My passion has to manifest itself as action for me to be a literary citizen; action is key above all else, even if it’s a simple conversation. When I follow an author on Twitter, review them on Goodreads, recommend a book to a long distance friend (The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton — read it, trust me), discuss with classmates what we’re currently reading, I am acting as a literary citizen because I am turning my passion into support and discussion.

I am planting seeds of passion in any way I can. That is literary citizenship.

 

2 thoughts on “Seeds of Passion: What Literary Citizenship Means to Me”

  1. “I could read by myself in my room and cry my heart out over the characters, but no one would ever know how I felt about that book if I didn’t talk to them about it. ”

    I resonate with this on a spiritual level. I love how you pointed out that while being passionate is wonderful, it is also important to talk about literature.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

